Cocktail Hour

I am not a morning person.  Let me repeat – I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON.   Yes, I just shouted it out.  It doesn’t matter how much sleep I get – I never feel lively, chipper, fully awake, ready to go, engines at full blast, in the morning.  I don’t linger in bed, but I do get ready for work in a zombie-like fashion.  The hot water of the shower is an absolute necessity.  It is quite effective as a transitional facilitator.  However, nothing, not even a strong cup of coffee, gets me up and going. 

So, I ask you, who are these “morning people?”  You know who I’m talking about.  The ones that are up at 5:30 a.m. for an hour of exercise, followed by packing their kids’ lunches, making a few business calls, and then getting ready for work.  They’re smiling, they have a spring to their step, and they look like they can conquer the world.  Sometimes I am envious of them.  I’d like to be that person.  I’ve even tried to be that person, with no success.  The closest I’ve come to being a morning person (and this is a stretch) is when I’ve taken a vacation day from work and am going to New York by train for a fun day in the city.  For that, I’ll get my sorry ass out of bed and make the effort.  Again, I’m still not awake, just motivated. 

I am a cocktail hour person.  Around 4:00 p.m. I start to come alive.  Now granted, I often have a late afternoon lull which requires some kind of sugar fix.  I find that fruit is the best antidote for this system glitch.  At this time of day I am awake due to several factors:  the first, I know I’ll be done work soon; the second, I know I can unwind at home and relax with my husband and son.  In the morning I enter into a semi-comatose state on the train and wake up in time to disembark at my station.  I also like a quick nap on the commute home, but this is just a refresher for the evening’s activities. 

I don’t think there is a cure for this, and I’m not sure it’s something that has to be fixed.  However, every so often I would like to wake up feeling like I’m ready to tackle the world and all its infinite possibilities.  For now, I’m going back to bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

