The Zone

Yesterday I was in the “zone.”  I rarely get in the “zone,” so when I do I know I have to make the best use of it.  What is the “zone?”  The “zone” is that spurt of energy you get every so often that makes you super motivated to get things done around the house.  I did at least 14 loads of laundry yesterday – and we’re only a family of three!  No, we didn’t let it pile up for weeks on end.  It just multiplied like samonella or rabbits.  Some was winter stuff that I rewashed “just because”; a few loads were towels and bedding; multiple loads were t-shirts and underwear; several loads were my son’s old clothes that I’m going to give to a friend for her kids; some loads were my work clothes; and lastly, assorted odds and ends.  I didn’t shower and didn’t go out.  If I had interrupted the “zone” I would have lost my momentum.  I did, however, manage to make the blueberry-nectarine cobbler I blogged about and a spinach kugel. 

Spinach kugel is another life-threatening dish that is great for school picnics/functions, pot lucks, parties, etc.  I got this recipe from my Aunt Shirley, and while most people today bitch and moan about calories, fat, carbs, etc., they always seem to go back for a second piece.  Once you try this you’ll know why.

Spinach Kugel

From the kitchen of Shirley Wolf

 ½ lb. thin or medium egg noodles

1 10 oz. box frozen chopped spinach

3 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1 package onion soup mix

1 stick butter

             1.         Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

             2.         In a colander in the sink place the frozen spinach and run hot water over it slowly until it is thawed.  When cool enough to handle, squeeze excess water from spinach and place in large mixing bowl with sour cream, eggs, and onion soup mix.

             3.         Cook noodles according to package directions.  Drain the noodles, return them to the pot, and add the butter, stirring until the butter is melted.

             4.         Add the buttered noodles to the large mixing bowl and combine thoroughly with the other ingredients.

             4.         Pour mixture into greased 9 x 13 pan and bake for 40-45 minutes. 

                        May be served hot or at room temperature. 

I cut it into squares and plate it on a nice tray for parties.  It’s easy to double the recipe (you can double all of the ingredients and mix in a huge bowl, then divide between two baking pans). 

It’s nuclear – it lasts a least a week in the fridge and is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Zone

  1. Karen Lynch-Schirra says:

    Ah, yes, “being in the zone!’ When we are in it, we are seriously in it. “Stand back! Out of my way! Do NOT bother me, unless you’re bleeding to death and even with that, hold off to a better time!!!” We move. We groove. We’re loving it! Things are getting done, and it feels great!! The hair’s looking bad from the perspiration and the clothes on our body are taking on a scent of their own, that of a productive body underneath. The feeling of a great accomplishment! BUT, it’s so good that we want to share it. So, we take a little break with water, coffee, tea, wine, or whatever and then give someone a call, as we want to share the joy and to let someone know who will equally revel in our being in the zone. So, while you took that needed break, Oysterdiva, you telephoned me, and we rejoiced! I’ve done it many times myself when I was in the zone. It is amazing what we can accomplish when we are in it, but it often takes a lot to get there. Hmmm, guess I better get back to being in a different zone, but that will only happen when I’m out of the zone that I presently reside: the high school reunion zone.

    Thank you for posting Aunt Shirley’s scrumptious kugel recipe! I still have it, but haven’t made it or her dessert kugel in a few years. I, like you, particularly like it when we bake it to have some crunchy top areas. It’s the best!!!

Leave a Reply

