Addiction

From Merriam-Webster:
Main Entry: ad·dic·tion
Pronunciation: \ə-ˈdik-shən, a-\
Function: noun
Date: 1599

1 : the quality or state of being addicted <addiction to reading>
2 : compulsive need for and use of a habit-forming substance (as heroin, nicotine, or alcohol) characterized by tolerance and by well-defined physiological symptoms upon withdrawal; broadly : persistent compulsive use of a substance known by the user to be harmful

I am fortunate to have an addiction that will not cause me bodily harm. 

Here it goes:  I am addicted to magazines. 

There, I said it.  Step 1 of a 12-step program I refuse to enter.  I just adore magazines.  I read them with passion, zeal, and rapt attention.  Which ones do I love?  Here’s the short list:

Town & Country, The New Yorker, Wine Spectator, Vogue, W, Bon Appetit, Food & Wine, Gourmet Australian Traveler, Coastal Living, Elle Decor, Traditional Home, Saveur, Veranda, New York Spaces, Philadelphia, Delicious.

And so many more.  I subscribe to many of these magazines.  I have also managed to obtain many free subscriptions through e-Rewards.  There is something so fresh, so immediate, so “of the moment” about a magazine.  I love the beautiful color photography, the escapism of tropical locales, the mouth-watering recipes, the thought-provoking articles, etc.  I love their ability to keep me “current” with trends in a way that the Internet and traditional news outlets cannot.  I love the feel of a magazine in my hands, the virgin territory of a new issue, the promise of a lifestyle I probably can’t attain but continue to try to anyway.  I just love it all. 

This weekend, as I prepare for girls’ weekend in Stone Harbor, one of my most important tasks will be to organize my stash of magazines.  I have some new ones at home that I have resisted opening, and I plan to buy some more today.  I’m more than willing to share my magazines with others, so long as I get first dibs on reading them.  So many people say they can’t be bothered with magazines, but they always want to look at my collection.  I could be smug and say “curiosity killed the cat,” but I’ll be even smugger and say “touch my magazine and I’ll kill you.”

Let me know what magazines you like to read.  I won’t be blogging tomorrow, but I’ll post a recipe later on.  Happy reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Addiction

  1. susan says:

    I, too, enjoy my magazines. I did go to rehab and now I am only receiving 3 magazines per month (as opposed to 10+/month) with an occasional purchase at the store or my husband bringing home issues of the “gossip mags” from the airlines. Elle Decor is my new fave. I still receive Dwell as well as Veranda.But my saddest moment was last year when I received notification that my all-time favorite magazine “Metropolitan Home” (for all those modern enthusiasts) was ceasing publishing operations after 30+ years. They sent me Elle Decor as a replacement ,which I do enjoy, but still not the same. I loved seeing my “modern dream” homes each month. The downer of the article that I read regarding their closing stated that Elle Decor was not fairing well either. Please, I can’t lose another fave magazine in less than a year. So Ellen thank you from all the Elle Decor addicts out there for being a subscriber to one of the last great magazines still being published. There’s nothing like the weight & feel of those glossy pages between your fingers while sitting on the beach.Have a great girls weekend!

Leave a Reply

