BLATs

BLATs – Bacon, Lettuce, Avocado and Tomato sandwich. 

The perfect easy summertime dinner.  It seems that there are many versions of this sandwich going around.  Some are even published in cookbooks.  And, while I don’t claim to have invented this sandwich, I do know that I was making it long before it became fashionable. 

So, what’s all the fuss about?  Well, you’re taking an already classic sandwich, the BLT, and kicking it up a notch.  The avocado is a nice foil to the juicy, acidic tomato and the salty, chewy bacon.  Although I profess no strict rules about the order of the ingredients, I know I tend to toast my bread, then slather it with mayonnaise, then semi-mush my avocado slices against the bread.  I continue with the bacon, tomato and lettuce.  The key is to be generous with all of the ingredients.  This is also one of those occasions where iceberg lettuce is perfectly acceptable, if not perhaps preferred.  It’s crisp, crunchy texture rounds out the components of the sandwich.  Of course, for a more mellow approach a nice bibb or butter lettuce will suffice.  All kinds of variables are possible, but fiddling too much betrays the original intent – to ameliorate an already good sandwich with the creamy nuttiness of a nice ripe avocado.

To round out this delicious meal I suggest boiling two ears of Jersey corn and adorning them as you wish.  I, of course, slather mine with butter and sprinkle on some sea salt.  There’s still plenty of time to enjoy this combo, so I suggest that instead of fretting about what to put on the table tonight, you gather the necessary elements for this fantastic dinner and leave your worries behind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

