Eggs

I love eggs.  Scrambled, hard boiled, sunny side up, poached.  My father and grandfather sold butter and eggs.  Back in the day, eggs were candled.  Candling is a method used to assess the embryonic development of an egg.  Since the original source of light used was a candle, hence the term “candling.”  My father and grandfather candled eggs to ensure that no egg was sold that had any embryonic development. 

When I was a kid I didn’t really like eggs all that much because my father used to force them on me.  Now, as an adult, I enjoy them in all forms.

First, there is the scrambled egg.  Without spending too much time using double boilers and the like to produce creamy scrambled eggs, here are a few tips.  Use the freshest eggs possible.  Gently beat them in a bowl.  Then, add either a tablespoon of milk or heavy cream to the mixture and incorporate.  Get your pan good and hot, then lower the heat, add a bit of butter, and when that melts pour in the mixture.  The key is to cook the eggs over low heat so that the proteins don’t toughen up.  Stirring gently and often, the result will be a silky mixture of lovely egg curds.  I enjoy mine on a piece of toast with a sprinkling of sea salt.

Next, the hard boiled egg.  Why do people insist on overcooking their eggs?  If you see a hard boiled egg with a green line around the yolk, it has been overcooked.  I just bring water to a rolling boil, carefully lower my eggs into the pan, and let them cook for 15 minutes.  Once the 15 minutes has elapsed I immediately drain the pan and add cold water (and sometimes a few ice cubes) to stop the cooking process.

I use an egg poacher for my poached eggs for the convenience factor.  Eggs Benedict is the perfect vehicle for a lovely poached egg.  A toasted English Muffin topped with Canadian bacon, the egg, and then smothered in rich, velvety Hollandaise sauce (more eggs!) and topped with a sprinkling of paprika.  Heaven!

As for the sunny side up egg, some prefer theirs well done and others like theirs runny.  I prefer a runny yolk, all the better to soak into a piece of buttered toast. 

I haven’t met too many eggs I didn’t like.  I adore a good egg salad sandwich.  Here is my recipe.

This will yield one egg salad sandwich for a relatively hungry person.

3 eggs, hard boiled (see above)

1/2 t. grainy Dijon mustard

1 T. Hellman’s mayonnaise

fresh thyme leaves (about 1/2 t. to 1 t.)

sea salt

As soon as you can handle the eggs, peel them.  Using an egg slicer, slice them once crosswise and then turn them and slice them again.  Put eggs in glass bowl.  Add mustard, mayonnaise, and thyme leaves.  Using a fork, blend the ingredients.  The egg mixture will not be too moist.  Add a light sprinkling of sea salt.  Blend again and taste.  If it needs more salt or mayonnaise, add them in small increments until the texture and flavor is to your liking. 

I actually enjoy eating this on toast as an open-faced sandwich.  It’s delicious warm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggs

  1. Yummmm, nice work’n the eggy angle.

  2. Did your scrambled eggs (with side bacon) this morning to rave reviews.
    geo.

Leave a Reply

