The Mix – Another Confession

I make brownies from a box.  I’ve made Betty Crocker, Duncan Hines, and Ghirardelli.  I like them all.  I made brownies once from scratch.  They were not as good as the ones from a box.  This may come as a surprise to those of you who are familiar with my cooking skills.  However, I am a firm believer that if there is something out there which makes your life easier and maintains the same standards as those you would normally hold yourself to, then there’s no reason not to indulge in that item or service.  For instance, I am a huge advocate of the epidural during childbirth.  I’m in pain, and someone was nice enough to go to all the trouble to invent something to put me out of my pain.  It won’t screw up my kid, and it will give me immediate relief.  Why the heck not?  The epidural was a life saver, and whoever invented it has my undying gratitude. 

Now, I certainly don’t think that brownie mix rises to the same level as an epidural.  However, a good brownie mix solves a lot of problems with minimal effort and expense.  I was able to procure a really good dark chocolate brownie with the addition of water, oil, and an egg.  In 45 minutes I was mother of the year, and had produced an 8 x 8 pan of glistening espresso-colored fudgy cake that smelled delicious and tasted even better.  The fact that I had made these brownies for a school dinner, which was cancelled due to rain, and had to (sob, sob) bring them home for us to eat was simply unimportant.  I cut out a beautiful square, wrapped it in foil, let it warm up for 10 minutes in the oven, and then scooped some vanilla ice cream on top and drenched it in whipped cream.  Bliss ensued.  My nirvana was not diminished by the fact that this was not a “from scratch” brownie.  So, thank you Ghirardelli, for helping me to carve out a little bit of happiness and have more time to enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mix – Another Confession

  1. LWT says:

    JMHO- I have two scratch brownie recipes that leave mix brownies in the dust 🙂

  2. Karen Lynch-Schirra says:

    There’s nothing like making something from scratch and “with love,” as Marie Barone would say, except when it turns out not that well or badly. There’s nothing wrong is using some easy-to-make commercial products, either. Ghirardelli’s brownies is one of them!

    Recently, I was at a function where brownies were served. They were all delicious, but the one woman’s was the best. People asked for her recipe. It was she who admitted that it was the Ghirardelli mix. Smart and kind woman to have shared her secret.

Leave a Reply

