First Day of Fall

Summer is officially over.  I am sad, but not depressed.  I savored it, lived it, and rejoiced in it.  Time to move on.  Instead of mourning what was, I have chosen to celebrate what will be.  So, here is my laundry list of things I’m looking forward to this fall.

In random order:

Pumpkin pie and all things pumpkin related:  I am a pumpkin junkie.  Of course, pumpkin pie is a fantastic vehicle for whipped cream, another of my ongoing vices.  I love pumpkin pie, pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin bread, pumpkin gnocchi, pumpkin raviolis, pumpkin roll.  Pumpkin – bring it on!

Caramel dipped apples:  I take granny smiths and dip them in rich caramel and dark chocolate, coating them with chopped almonds, pecans, etc.  I do several variations, all equally indulgent.

Halloween:   What my kid won’t eat, I will.  Enough said.

Butternut Squash:  This is truly one of those vegetables that you need to wait until  fall to eat.  Delicious in a gratin topped with parmesan cheese.

Apple Pie:   My son wants to make an apple pie with me this year.  Another opportunity to teach him about cooking and bond in the kitchen.  My late mother-in-law made a fantastic apple pie with a cheddar cheese bubble crust top, which was to die for.  We can’t find the recipe, but I’m searching for a similar one.  Topped with vanilla ice cream, it was meant to shut down your left ventricle – but you’d die a happy person.

Wearing Boots:   I love wearing boots, and I don’t have to worry if my socks match. 

Leaves Turning Colors:   A nice drive to New Hope satisfies my craving for autumnal bliss.

Thanksgiving:   My favorite holiday.  All food.  No gift giving, except giving the gift of your love and friendship to others.

Braises, Stews and Chilis:   I am excited to try a number of new recipes this year.  Leftovers are encouraged.

The Beginning of the TV Season:   I only watch one or two series, but season premieres and new episodes are always something to look forward to.

There is at least one item which you might think I have inadvertently forgotten, but rest assured, it is not a pressing matter for me.  I am not a football person, so the start of football season does not cause my toes to tingle and my lips to sing.  Now, that is not to say that I don’t enjoy the occasional football game.  But I have no qualms about saying that I am not a football junkie.  I’m sure I’ll be hearing from some of you about this horrible lapse in character development.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day of Fall

  1. Karen Lynch-Schirra says:

    Autumn is my favorite season! The beauty of the leaves changing is magnificent!!! The smell of someone burning a fire in their fireplace–enjoyable! Love the clothes and in not having to find that elusive matching sock when wearing the boots. The comfort food and, yes, the leftovers. Some foods are truly better the next day, as the flavors have had a better opportunity to marry. There’s so much to enjoy about the season!

Leave a Reply

